is 4 downriggers a good set up instead of dipsys

I've got 4 downriggers, instead of dipsys. Just looking for advice on the best way to optimize all 4 the best way possible. I'm new to big lake fishing and don't know if I can get away with not using dipsys because it seems like everybody's using them.

Dipsys and long lines can always be added in the future as your experience and confidentence grows. Four riggers is all my dad fished with when I was a kid, it wasn't until I got infected with the salmon bug that more rigs were added to the boat. He thinks I'm crazy pulling up to a dozen lines now if I have the crew to do it.

Vary your depths and leads from the balls to see what the fish want. Fishing them in a V formation will help keep ya tangle free, center riggers at deeper depths and out downs shallower. Any type of lure can be ran off them, spoons, plugs, flasher/flies, meat rigs, ect.

Pay attention to your cable angles at trolling speed, somewhere between 2-3mph typically(again experiment with speed), trolling into a current will result in more ball blow back, and the opposite trolling with the current. Make a mental note of the rigger cable angles when your catching fish, try to replicate that next time out.

The guys on this site are real helpful so don't be afraid to ask questions. Where will you be fishing out of? Likely someone might take ya under their wing and show ya some tricks.

Sent from my HTC One X using Great Lakes Fisherman mobile app

Here is the thing. As the water seems to be clearer the fish are more skittish. We have had many trips the downriggers were dead. The advantage to the dipsy divers and boards is they widen your presentation limiting the effect of the boat. We run two riggers, 14' beam on the boat, so we could run more, but, the divers and the boards are cheaper, and seem to be more productive. Plus, we can cover 200' of water instead of 14'. Just my opinions.