Lead Core, What's the Big Deal???

Ok first of all I'm a beginner, YOU all know that, Second Mike told me to ask this question because you guys WOULDN"T think of me as an Idoit, as I feel when asking these questions.But here goes...

WHats the big deal with Lead Core lines.....I don't get it, what happened to good ole fishing line?

Is there an advantage over Mono, where can Lead Core not be used?

Where should it be used?

When should you use Lead Core and is it Braided, and why is it Braided?

So many questions.......So Much time until we can get the boats WET!!!!

SIgned...."Need to Know" Boltman

Robert

Tom is correct, the search is a great way to find stored info.

I'm stuck at home from a post hernia operation, so I'll be glad to answer.

Lead core is a strand of lead wrapped with a braided Dacron line.

A full core of it is Ten- 10 yard sections (300'). The most common size used is the 36 pound.

You will need a big reel for a full core and it's backing (I use a AD57LC by Daiwa). No special poles are required.

The advantages of it are; Stealth presentation, ability to target fish away from the boat, and the ability to run additional lines with out a bunch of expense.

You can run a core line straight behind the boat, but I would not recommend it.

The best way to run it is; let the core out, clip a Church Walleye board to it and let it run off to the side. If you are running Divers, make sure you are outside of them.

A full core will run about 40' deep.

I have my best luck on the core first/last light, or when the water is cold (fish will be in the top water when it's cold).

I run spoons and plugs behind my cores, but many run flasher/fly combos.

The reason for not running the core straight out the back is, The rigger fish have a tendency to cross it and tangle. Also if you use a board, you can run them off each side.

Mike is correct, all of us here loves to fish and help the others that are learning.