Mono Vs. Spider Wire

Hey Members,

So are you fishing with 30# mono on your dipsy's still. I have been fishing with 30# mono for about 15 years and man did it ever suck. When I had my dipsy's set back 200-250 feet back and wanted to release my dipsy just to check out my bait or just change my lure's, it was really hard to release my dipsy all the time. Allso when I used mono I notice I would loose alot of fish because I think the mono just streched out so much. Well my fishing buddy Sarah C just kept going on and on that Id better go with spiderwire because that didn't strech and would release my dipsy so much easier when I had it back so far. Well let me tell you something, it really works better than mono. I noticed that I had better hook ups and caught more fish than I did when I use to use mono and you don't have to have your dipsy set back to go deeper because spiderwire will not strech. Well if you want to use spider wire on your dipsy's this is what you have to do. Go to your favorite tackle shop and go get you a spool of 150yards of 50# steath spiderwire. You can keep all your mono on your reel still for backing. But you will have to take off about 150 yards of your mono off your reel because you need to put back on your reel 150 yards of spiderwire on your dipsy reel. I had alot of luck with spiderwire than I ever did when I use to use mono. So give it a try this year and catch more fish.

Caznik

i117294sn01.jpg

Great advice, Caz! I also switched last year from using 30# mono to 30# spider wire. It works great. The dipsys run much better in currents, release much cleaner, and depth control is much better. I also agree that having some mono as backing is a good idea. The spider wire stealth has a coating on the line that really helps it to work smoothly through the rod and reel. The coating also help to keep the line from sticking.