In-Lines versus Big Boards Q & A.

I’ve got limited experience using big boards – mainly throwing a couple lines way-out for “steelies†while Salmon fishing. I use Offshore in-lines for night trolling in April, I also own a couple “walleye boards†but found they don’t handle good in rough water – but I do love the spring-loaded slot in the front of the boards for removing the boards while hooked up. I was going to buy a couple more inlines and also want “big boardsâ€. My prob with inlines is you don’t get to fight the fish until the last 20’ (or until boards’ released).

Question – how (or) does anyone run bigs @ night?

Question – Do you ever have problems losing your in-lines and how to protect this from happening?

My solution – I replaced the front clip with a swivel that would catch on a larger barrel swivel preceding my leader.

Question – If you could only invest in one for both day and night fishing – what would you choose? :?

Gatorbait.

Firstly Gatorbait..

Running big boards at night could work, but would involve a lot more work and attention to be worth wild. I have never lost an In-Line board at night, because I lock the line to the board by wrapping it around the front release twice or more. And I guess if I was confined to buying just one type it would be In-Lines.

In my many years of fishing I've used many kinds of boards both big and In-Lines, starting with my own wooden ones I made myself back in the mid-70's. Virtually everything from the old Styrofoam Yellow Birds, to light plastic configurations made by Lur Jenson. Even an experimental model I helped develop, made by the Storm Lure Company that looked like the Star Trek Enterprise, that was actually called "The Shuttle".