lead core setups

I am still fairly new to fishing the big pond for salmon. I have yet to start to run lead cores. I am hoping to change this by next weekend. I have extra rods and reels so that isn't a problem. I am planning on setting up two setups to run off inline boards. I was leaning towards two 5 core setups, but am open to all opinions. I am new to this so I need to know how much backing and what backing I need to put on the reels, and how much leader to use as well. Also what knots to use to tie the backing to the core and the core to the leader.

Now for a couple rigging questions. I am under the impression that each section of core should put me 4-5' down in the water column. So if I was to put out 5 sections I should be down 20-25'. but.......I have heard some people to say to run your core out then run out another 100' of line. Will that extra 100' of line help me get any deeper?

Also I am looking for any and all other information you can give me to get this setups going(and hopefully catching fish).

Thank you in advance for any and all information you shoot my way(and remember any information you give me might get used againist you in a future tournament or challenge:grin:).

Andy

Letting out the 100 or so feet of backer will not get you any deeper that the 5 ft per color. You need to run this backer out a ways to get the full 5 ft per color, and to have some line to hook the planer boards up.:)

I am one who runs the extra 100' of backing off before I attach it to a board. Like Frank said, "You need to run this backer out a ways to get the full 5 ft per". A lot of people attach the board right after the lead core. The depth achieved is also dependant on what you have on for a bait. ie....crankbait, dodger/fly, plug, spinner/fly or spoon.