wire line

I have never used copper wire line before as I have always used mono and lead core so I would like some information. What rods and reels are recommended? Can you use wire line on a downrigger or just for dipseys? How is the wire line spooled onto the reel? Do you use mono to start the spooling and then tie the wire onto the mono?

Any info would be appreciated.

Fishhunter

Copper is supposed to run deeper however some of the new dive curves say not as much as advertised it is big and thick so huge reels are required. Wireline will eat your rod guides so most of us use roller rods I for one run a backer and put on 600ft of wire some guys just spool on 1000ft of wire that is kind of a personal choice. While I use my wireline for other things than just divers I would not hook them to my downriggers.

I have never used copper wire line before as I have always used mono and lead core so I would like some information. What rods and reels are recommended? Can you use wire line on a downrigger or just for dipseys? How is the wire line spooled onto the reel? Do you use mono to start the spooling and then tie the wire onto the mono?

Fishhunter

Copper line and wire lines are two different lines.

I use 30lb wire line on my diver rods. I use roller rods that have a rotating tip, with the wire line. I attached my wire directly to the spool, and wrapped it with electrical tape.

I do not use the copper line, and can not comment on that.

Fishhunter